Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

Setting up Breakout Rooms

Breakout rooms are sub-rooms that can be created within a meeting or training session. They are useful for splitting a large group into smaller groups that can talk or collaborate. Breakout rooms can be used in meetings and training sessions that have 200 or fewer people. Hosts can create up to 20 breakout rooms for a single meeting or training session.

Hosts can use the default breakout room layout or design a new layout to use specifically with breakout rooms. Create a custom breakout room layout if you want to do preparatory work before sending content and people to breakout rooms. Creating custom layouts can help meetings go faster and be better organized.

The layout active when you click the Start Breakouts button is reproduced in all breakout rooms. For example, if layout 1 is active and you begin breakouts with three rooms, those three rooms use layout 1. If you change the meeting or training session to layout 2 and add breakout room 4, then breakout room 4 uses layout 2.

If you want different content in each breakout room but do not require different layouts, prepare the rooms before attendees join the meeting or training session. First configure the number of breakout rooms required. Then, click Start Breakouts and move yourself from room to room, loading the required content into each Share pod. Then, end the breakouts. When attendees join and you click Start Breakouts again, the content is ready. (If necessary, you can also alter the layout and content of breakout rooms during a meeting.)

Video: Creating, Managing, Breakout Rooms and Pods

Note: Video opens in existing window.

Managing Breakout Rooms

If you have 20 people in a session, you could create 4 breakout rooms and move 5 attendees to each room. In the breakout rooms, the attendees can speak to each other depending on the audio configuration. They can use the Chat pod, collaborate on a whiteboard, and share their screens. The host can visit all of the breakout rooms to assist and answer questions.

Audio can be used in breakout rooms through the use of VoIP with computer microphones. A separate VoIP audio channel is created for each breakout room, allowing each to have separate conversations. Participants are automatically assigned the role of presenter in a breakout room, giving them full VoIP rights. When a host ends a breakout session, everyone returns to the main meeting room and VoIP audio channel.

Communication in breakout rooms

Icon

If VoIP is not possible, attendees can use the Chat pod to communicate in breakout rooms.

 

Starting and Ending Breakout Rooms

When work in the breakout rooms is complete, the host can end the breakout session and return attendees to the main room. Hosts are able to share what happened in the breakout rooms with everyone. If necessary, the host can return attendees to their same breakout rooms. If you use the room again, you can also reuse the breakout room layout and content. (However, the assignment of attendees to breakout rooms is not retained.)

http://help.adobe.com/en_US/connect/9.0/using/WS372813bbb4178f2417094f9e12b308681ed-8000.html

 

 

Recording with Breakout rooms

Icon

 If you are recording a meeting or training session and send attendees to breakout rooms, the recording continues to record only the main room. (To edit the recording so those watching do not have to view an empty main room.

  • No labels